Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Scam or Not?

I received the following e-mail from model.seth(at)live.com:

Dear Winner,

We are pleased to inform you of the result of the last final draw of MODEL SETH MITCHELL INTERNATIONAL LOTTERY Programs.

The lotto draws was conducted from an exclusive list of the fans email that leaves comment or questions for Seth on the blog.

After the automated computer ballot, your e-mail address account emerged as a winner in the category and e-ticket number: (redacted), you are therefore to receive a cash prize of $180,000.00 (One hundred and eighty Thousand) USD, from the total payout.

You are advised to contact our Certified and Accredited claims agent for category (match 1) winners with the information below:

Name: (redacted)
E-mail: (redacted)
Phone: (redacted)

Provide him with the following information:

Full Name:
Full Address:
Marital Status:
Telephone Number:
Country of Residence:

Note: I personally send the winning notification to you to avoid diversion of a winner's fund. If you do not get your prize after two weeks, do not hesitate to click reply to this message and inform me.

Once again, congratulations for your winning prize.

Best Regards,
Seth Mitchell

I'm pretty sure this is a scam, but I'm almost impressed in how they found me.

I did comment on a blog where Seth Mitchell (a real model, by the way) was featured. I said I wanted to be entered for the drawing. However, that drawing was for one of his posters. And it was back in 2010!

How many people do you think would actually respond to this hoping for the $180,000? The information they ask for doesn't seem all that sensitive, does it? It's not like they're asking for your SSN or credit card/bank information. Still, I know if it's too good to be true, it's most likely not true. And I never entered into this contest to begin with.

Unfortunately, I couldn't find anything on the internet stating this is an actual scam (or I'm just looking in the wrong place - not impossible!).

What do you think? Have you received one of these e-mails?


Maria Zannini said...

I get these sort of emails all the time. I can't believe anyone falls for this. But enough people must or the spammers wouldn't keep doing it.

Maria Zannini said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
B.E. Sanderson said...

I haven't received anything like that, but judging from what I can see on Google (leaving out 'seth mitchell' and just going with 'international lottery programs'), it's a scam. Whoever's propagating these things probably tweaks them slightly to match wherever they found the email address - so they can suck people in easier. The info they ask for in the email is to make you feel at ease and then I'm betting they ask for much more detailed and sensitive information when you contact their 'Certified and Accredited' claims agent.

$180K would be an awesome thing to just fall into your lap, though.

midnightblooms said...

Sounds like a scam to me. And even though the info doesn't seem all that sensitive, it is personal. Also responding means they know it's a good email address and can sell it to other scammers and advertisers.

Stacy McKitrick said...

Maria - I can believe a lot of people could fall for these. And that just makes me sad.

B.E. - Yeah, $180,000 sure would make my life easier right now. Sure wish it were true!!

Melissa - I never respond to these, because I know they're just looking for e-mail addresses, too. Same with those e-mails I get that just has a link that says "check this out!". You just can't trust anything anymore. It's sad!